Seventy-five Cherokee County School District teachers have earned the Certified Inclusive Educator (CIE) designation after completing specialized training to better serve special education students.

The 10-month program, developed by CCSD’s special education department, provided teams of general education and special education co-teachers with training on best practices including research-based strategies and effective models, concluding with a capstone presentation by participants for their fellow teachers at their own schools.

The newly named CIE educators are:

  • Arnold Mill ES: Robyn Pitkins and Katherine Derman
  • Avery ES: Pam Pfitzner and Michelle Harris
  • Ball Ground ES STEM Academy: Susan Lumpkin and Cortnie Freeman
  • Bascomb ES: Sandra West, Winn Ward and Melissa Riddle
  • Boston ES: Debbie Howell and Jamie Moss
  • Carmel ES: Dawn Mathis and Fernando Vara
  • Cherokee HS: Shelly McNellie and Rebecca Coury
  • Clark Creek ES STEM Academy: Kristy James and Brittany Holton
  • Clayton ES: Jane Jarrett and Julie Warner
  • Creekland MS: Christine Vester and Laura Brown
  • Creekview HS: Brooke Harrison and Liana Howard
  • Dean Rusk MS: Mindee Calabrese and Misty Harper
  • E. T. Booth MS: Monica Besterci and Alicia Crump
  • Etowah HS: Debbie Rufa and Amanda Massey
  • Free Home ES: Anslee Cochran and Amanda Day
  • Freedom MS: Ansleigh Gregory and Jennifer Womack
  • Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Cristin Bell, Nene Azemogie, and Kylie Townsend
  • Hickory Flat ES: Rebecca Miller and Heather Amos
  • Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Courtney Nations and Cynthia Rudin
  • Indian Knoll ES: Megan Malecek and Katie Malcolm
  • Johnston ES: Cindy Boswell and Paige Chandler
  • Knox ES STEM Academy: Andrea Shurtleff, Mendy MacAulay, and Janet Marotte
  • Liberty ES: Amy Bramblett and Stephanie Hopersberger
  • Little River ES: Christy Rivero and Danielle Gradwell
  • Macedonia ES: Kristina Cribb and Meredith Castro
  • Mill Creek MS: Elaine Warner and Sara Gregg
  • Mountain Road ES: Kristen Mitchell and Christine Ryan
  • Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy: Beverly Atsma and Katy Picarelli
  • R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy: Sarah Joyave and Amanda Stewart
  • River Ridge HS: Heather Bellini and Amber Hall
  • Sequoyah HS: Joachim Veihman and Cora Hodgins
  • Sixes ES: Sarah Medley and Jennifer Spain
  • Teasley MS: Stacy Howell and Anna Lamprey
  • Woodstock ES: Katie Grooms and Michelle Cumana
  • Woodstock HS: Hellen Lane and Jenae Rose
  • Woodstock MS: Erik Hall and Michelle Kitts

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.