Canton City HALL

Qualifying for city elections in Cherokee County this week saw most incumbents and new candidates running unopposed, with some contested races in Ball Ground, Nelson and Mountain Park.

Qualifying for Nov. 2 municipal general elections in Canton, Woodstock, Holly Springs, Ball Ground, Waleska, Nelson and Mountain Park ended Wednesday.

No new candidates qualified Wednesday to run for office Wednesday, city officials said. The deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 2 elections is Oct. 4.

In Woodstock, former state Rep. Michael Caldwell is running for mayor unopposed, as well as council incumbents Warren Johnson (Ward 1), Colin Ake (Ward 3) and Brian Wolfe (Ward 5.)

Three candidates have qualified for the Canton City Council, all unopposed, City Clerk Annie Fortner said. They are: incumbents Sandy McGrew in Ward 1 and Will Carlan for Ward 2 and Dwayne A. Waterman in Ward 3, who would be new to the council.

In Holly Springs’ special election to fill the remaining term of City Councilwoman Karen Barnett, Kevin Moore qualified Monday to stand for the seat. Assistant City Clerk Erin Honea said no other candidates qualified for this election.

Ball Ground Mayor Rick Roberts qualified to run for re-election with no opposition, City Clerk Karen Jordan said. In the Post 4 city council race, incumbent John Byrd and Kristine Rogers qualified. For the election for Post 5, Ben Reilly, Dennis Nelson and Charles Jenkins all qualified Monday for the seat currently occupied by Councilman Mickey O’Malley, who is not seeking another term.

Six candidates qualified for elections in Nelson, officials with the Pickens County Election Board said Wednesday. Mayor Sylvia Green qualified to run for another term as mayor, as did city council members James Queen and Susan Johnston. Also qualifying for the elections for Nelson City Council were Terry Johnson, Michael Brown and William Taylor. All city council posts in Nelson are elected at-large city-wide, according to the city’s website.

All of the candidates seeking office in Waleska qualified Monday, City Manager Robyn Smith said. City council incumbents John Costales from Post 1 and Kristi Bosch from Post 4 successfully qualified, as did William Taylor, who is running for a Post 3 seat on the city council.

Mountain Park announced on its website the following candidates have qualified for public office: Councilman Lloyd Hendricks, Robin Montgomery Auerbach, Councilman R. Scott Read, Councilwoman Linda Dorough Dixon, Bill Kolbrener, Glenn McCoin, Eddie F. Mathis, Robert deLaSalle, Nancy Braswell, Emily Myers, Marvin Penick.

Those interested in joining the Ball Ground City Council will have one more chance later this month. In a special election to fill Councilman Frank Homiller’s seat, there will be a qualifying window from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Aug. 23 and 24, and 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Aug. 25, with a qualifying fee of $35. This special election will also be held Nov. 2.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.