Cherokee County School District students excelled at the statewide literature competition.

The Tome Student Literary Society, a national organization dedicated to promoting a love and appreciation of literature among fourth- through 12th-grade students, held its annual TomeCon competition. Teams from six CCSD school participated and won top honors.

Students work all year on projects and papers to submit for the competition based on books read from a list of 20 books called the “It List.” Some competitions, such as Reading Bowl and Book Talk, are held during TomeCon, with other projects submitted digitally in advance.

Avery Elementary School won the elementary-level Reading Bowl, while CCSD middle schools swept their Reading Bowl competition, with Freedom Middle School winning first, followed by Dean Rusk MS in second and Teasley MS in third.

CCSD students also earned individual and team recognition for placing in competitions, as well as for service hours and induction into the organization’s National Honor Society.

The students were recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and superintendent April 18.

The CCSD state winners are:


Avery Elementary School

State Elementary School Reading Bowl – First Place

Team members: Graham Bauch, William Brooks, Duncan Crist, Kassidy Eno, Marissa Long, John McDaniel, Ethan Mote, Rylie Newbold, Micah Owens, Sam Pitts, Addison Quinn, John Merrill Williams, Miles Young, Hudson Zieg

Coaches: Jennifer Blakey, Kristina Eno, Cindy Powell


Freedom Middle School

State Middle School Reading Bowl – First Place

Team members: Chris Akers, Thaddaeus Brake, Cheyenne Buffkin, Annabeth Dudley, Braden Flournoy, Connor Gunkler, Jaeden Heberling, Avery King, Megan McBride, Jacob Tucker

Coaches: Allison Cook, Amber Effner, Amanda Struchtemeyer

Teasley Middle School

Grace McPherson: First Place, It List Theme Essay

Katy Williams: First Place, It List Poetry

Carter Lewis, Liam McKinney and Katy Williams: Second Place, Current Events and Issues Portfolio

Abby Bracewell: Second Place, It List Book Review

Finn Sheldon: Second Place, Book Print Video

Olivia Stegos: Second Place, Book Review Blog

Coaches: Beth DuLong, Graham Penniman, Scott Reece, Angela Woodard


Creekview High School

Erin Franchini: First Place, Book Print Video

Coach: Nan Lanford

River Ridge High School

Alicia Mazzurra: First Place, It List Poetry

Grace Pfohl: First Place, It List Book Review Blog Article

Kora Brianas and Hailey Martin: First Place, It List Book Vlog

Alicia Mazzurra and Billie O’Bryant: Inducted into the National Tome Honor Society

Coach: Keara Rubin

Sequoyah High School

Bridget Gutierrez: First Place, It List Fan Art and It List Theme Essay; and Second Place, It List Book Review Blog Article

Itzel Fuentes, Abby George, Ashlyn George and Bridget Gutierrez: First Place, Chapter Service Project

Itzel Fuentes: Second Place, It List Fan Fiction

Coaches: Elease Franchini, Stephanie Judkins.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.