Retired Educator Promo Pic.JPG

From left, Pam Carnes, president and CEO of Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce, Anita Summers, director of the Sequoyah Regional Library System and David Simmons, vice president of facilities at Chattahoochee Technical College. The chamber and the college donated $1,000 to the library system in honor of Cherokee County School District’s retiring educators.

Cherokee County School District’s retiring educators and support staff are being recognized with the close of the school year.

The Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce’s education committee and Chattahoochee Technical College, donated $1,000 to the Sequoyah Regional Library System in the name of retiring educators. The funds will be used to purchase books for the system’s Cherokee County libraries, and each of the books will have a label recognizing a faculty or staff member who retired during the 2020-2021 school year.

“This is the twelfth year the Chamber has acknowledged retiring educators for their

valuable contribution to the lives of students in Cherokee County. The Chamber is pleased to partner with Chattahoochee Technical College in this tribute to Cherokee County’s educators,” Chamber President and CEO Pam Carnes said in a statement.

The majority of the school district’s retirees ended their careers at the close of the school year; some retired earlier in the year based on their retirement eligibility date, according to the school district.

“Congratulations to each of our retirees for dedicating your career to serving our community’s children,” Superintendent Brian Hightower said. “Whether you served in a classroom or behind the scenes, you made a positive difference in the lives of our students. I know our entire community has benefitted from your exemplary service and joins me in wishing you the best as you enjoy your hard-earned retirement.”

CCSD’s 2020-21 retirees are:

ACE Academy: Katherine Betts, Terri Glasok, Greg LaBelle, William Norman, Camey Sanchez

Arnold Mill Elementary School: Julia Blake, Amy Deihl

Avery Elementary School: Lori Hohl, Marie Murray, Joy Winfrey

Ball Ground Elementary School STEM Academy: Patricia Cagle, Susan Lumpkin, Lisa Nations, Catherine Smith, Sherry Tucker

Bascomb Elementary School: Marsha Allen, Principal Kathleen Chandler, Gayle Eakin, Pamela Lord, Julie Moreno, Sonya Turner, Selina Wingard, Donna Winters

Boston Elementary School: Shawn McClellan

Carmel Elementary School: Susan Costa, Ann Harris, Dana Overton

CCSD Department of Special Education: Kerry Kiefer

CCSD Department of Transportation: Karen Bagwell, Arlene Baker, Debbie Bugg, Joe Burgun, Greg Caudle, Dorian Duke, Valerie Dunn, Patricia Harper, Van Hendrix, Jean Keesee, Sherrie Liford, Neal McConnell, Sharon Padgett, Dennis Roberts, Linda Salois, Jill Travis

CCSD Office of Human Resources: Sandi Carey, Karen Lay, Alison Moss

CCSD Office of Support Services: Van Hendrix

CCSD Office of the Superintendent: Renee Coleman

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy: Jonathan Hall, Susan Selover, Cheryl Streiber, Teresa Wilkins

Clayton Elementary School: Kimbra Satterfield, Nancy Walker

Creekland Middle School: Denise Cooper, Angie Rubel

Creekview High School: Cynthia Blevins, Lenora Lewis, Michael Nayman, Sara Patrick, Chuck Wilson

Dean Rusk Middle School: Anita Geoghagan, Deborah Lanter, Lois Thom

E.T. Booth Middle School: Katherine Custer

Etowah High School: David Dunn, Kathleen Velueta

Freedom Middle School: Becky Buice, Arlene Freeland

Hasty Elementary School Fine Arts Academy: Lori Brackett, Rita Frady, Carla Scoggins, Clinton Shaw, Susan Thacker

Hickory Flat Elementary School: Kimberly Crowe, Brenda Mercer

Holly Springs Elementary School STEM Academy: Rhonda Mackinnon, Kristine Schabacker, Alison Vidal

Indian Knoll Elementary School: Phyllis Hunter, Leslie Skopik

Johnston Elementary School: Kimberly Costa

Knox Elementary School STEM Academy: Tracey Scott

Liberty Elementary School: Charlene Dalfonso, Rad Dixon, Maria McCall

Macedonia Elementary School: Nancy Baker, Daisy Moorehead, Kelly Zimmerman

Mill Creek Middle School: Athena Bennett, Paul Jones, Pat Parker, Diane Scott

Mountain Road Elementary School: Lori Bagwell, Pamela Cone, Dana Izquierdo, Shelley Sheldon

R.M. Moore Elementary School STEM Academy: Debra Barron, Stephanie Collett, Pauline Stanfield

River Ridge High School: Tony Ewers

Sequoyah High School: Elaine Dasher

Sixes Elementary School: Susan Dyer, Mary Alice Gresch, Jennifer Hall

Teasley Middle School: Karen DeSue, Kim Hold, Iona Strougo, Cynthia Wheeler

Woodstock Elementary School: Kathie Hosmer, Beth Johnston, Laurie Slater

Woodstock High School: Allen Domenico, Karen Zayance

Woodstock Middle School: Barbara Brensinger, Michael Choquette, Gale Connelly, Georgia Heard, Nan Mackenzie

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, residents need trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by purchasing a digital subscription. Your subscription will allow you unlimited access to important local news stories. Our mission is to keep our community informed and we appreciate your support.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.