Polls are open until 7 p.m. in Canton Tuesday for the election that will decide who is mayor and who will fill two contested city council seats for new terms that begin in January.

Elections in Waleska and Woodstock planned for today became unnecessary when only incumbents qualified in August.

After early and advance voting were completed last week at the county elections office, Canton precincts open for voting today are:

Clayton – Fire Station #21 Community Center, 1190 Evenflo Drive, Ball Ground

Canton – First Baptist Canton, 1 Mission Point, Canton

Liberty – Liberty Elementary School, 10500 Bells Ferry Road, Canton

R.T. Jones – Canton City Hall Auditorium, 110 Academy St., Canton

Teasley — River Green Heritage Club, 201 Clubhouse Drive, Canton

Univeter – Cherokee County Senior Center, 1001 Univeter Road, Canton

Races on the ballot include:

Ward 1 incumbent JoEllen Wilson is running for re-election. She is challenged by Bob Reilly and Kathy Strom.

Ward 3 incumbent Farris Yawn is running for re-election. He is challenged by Brooke Schmidt.

In Ward 2, Shawn Tolan is the only candidate to qualify and will take office in January.

Incumbent Mayor Gene Hobgood did not seek re-election. The candidates running for mayor are former Ward 2 Councilman Bill Grant and Dwight Pullen.

Candidates have met the public in at least one public forum and you will find our coverage here:

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.