The first candidates have tossed in their bid to run for office in Cherokee County’s cities in November’s election.

As of Monday, the first day of qualifying for the municipal elections, three candidates in Woodstock have qualified for mayoral and city council seats in Woodstock, City Clerk Rhonda Pezzello told the Tribune. Incumbents Colin Ake (Ward 3) and Warren Johnson (Ward 1) qualified to seek reelection, while mayoral candidate Michael Caldwell officially qualified in that race. Mayor Donnie Henriques earlier announced he would not be seeking reelection. Qualifying is 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday at the Woodstock Annex, 12453 Highway 92. The non-refundable qualifying fee is $342 for council members and $432 for mayor.

Canton City Council members Sandy McGrew and William Carlan had qualified to run for reelection to their respective seats in Ward 1 and Ward 2, city officials said. Dwayne Waterman officially qualified to run for election in Ward 3. Qualifying is 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday and 8 a.m. to noon Wednesday at city hall, 110 Academy St. The qualifying fee is $360.

In Holly Springs, Kevin Moore has qualified to run in the special election to fill the unfinished term of the late Holly Springs City Councilwoman Karen Barnett, city officials said. Qualifying is until 4:30 p.m. Wednesday at city hall, 3235 Holly Springs Parkway, in the city clerk’s office. The fee is $180 payable to Holly Springs.

In Ball Ground, Mayor Rick Roberts had qualified to campaign for another term, City Clerk Karen Jordan said. Councilman John Byrd qualified for re-election, and Kristine Rogers qualified to run for his Post 4 seat. Ben Reilly, Dennis Nelson and Charles Jenkins all qualified to run for Post 5, currently held by Mickey O’Malley. O’Malley announced earlier this year he would be stepping down from the council at the end of his term. Qualifying concludes at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday at city hall, 215 Valley St. The qualifying fee for mayor is $108 and $35 for city council.

In Waleska, Jon Costales (City Council Post 1) and Kristi Bosch (City Council Post 4) had qualified in their reelection bids, City Clerk and Manager Robyn Smith said. William Taylor also officially qualified to stand for office during this election cycle. Smith did not respond by press time to a request for clarification on which seat Taylor is running for. Qualifying dates will be from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Aug. 9 to 11 at city hall, 8891 Fincher Rd. The fee is $72.

Election qualifying continues through Wednesday.

Next week, Ball Ground will open qualifying for a special election to fill the remainder of Councilman Frank Homiller’s term. Homiller recently announced he would be resigning from the council due to a work-related conflict of scheduling.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, residents need trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by purchasing a digital subscription. Your subscription will allow you unlimited access to important local news stories. Our mission is to keep our community informed and we appreciate your support.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.